Depending on the payment processor used to purchase the Offer, your Members' access may be automatically revoked if payment failed or gets canceled.
In this article:
- If Payments Stop...
- When is the Offer automatically revoked?
- Can I prevent Members from accessing Product(s) with failed or canceled payments?
If Payments Stop...
Although we wish they didn't, subscription cancelations and payment failures happen. So, what happens if they do?
With the different integrations set up with Stripe and PayPal, failed or canceled payments end future payments and may revoke access to the Product(s) included with the purchased Offer.
When is the Offer automatically revoked?
Members with failed payments or canceled subscriptions will automatically lose access to the Products included with their Offer(s) if they purchased through Stripe.
If your Members purchased your Offer(s) with PayPal, they may still have access to the Product(s) included with their purchased Offer(s).
Stripe's integration automatically revokes access to the Offer connected with the purchase inside Kajabi at the end of the billing cycle. These changes are recorded in both your Members' People Profile under their Purchases and in your Stripe account.
With PayPal, a canceled subscription is reported within your PayPal account, but by default, does not automatically revoke access to the Offer. To ensure that your Members cannot access the Product(s) included with the canceled Offer, revoke access to the Offer manually or with Automations.
Similar to cancelations, failed subscriptions with Stripe automatically revoke access to the Offer connected with the purchase.
Additionally, Stripe provides various solutions for managing failed payments including:
- Customize Stripe's Retry schedule if a payment failure occurs.
- Create Customer emails to send when a card payment fails.
- Adjust the Subscription status to determine the action that will occur if all retries for a payment fails.
With PayPal, Members with failed payments may still have access to the Product(s) included with their purchased Offer(s).
If a recurring payment fails in PayPal, by default, PayPal will reattempt the failed payment a couple of times before officially canceling the subscription.
Can I prevent Members from accessing Product(s) with failed or canceled payments?
Yes! With the combined power of Automations & Offers, you can set up Automations to revoke access if payments fail or gets canceled.
Creating Automations to Revoke Access
Prevent your Members from accessing Product(s) with failed or canceled payments by setting up Automations in your Offers to revoke access if payment is canceled or fails.
Learn to create an Automation to Revoke Access if Payment Fails